The Disney College Program: The Start to My Journey

My entire young life, I have dreamed of working for Walt Disney World. Being that my family has taken me since I could walk, adding my siblings to the mix when they were born, and enjoying the magic, I have lived, breathed, and dreamed Disney. This place is home to true magic, almost like the scenes you see in movies. It’s unbelievable to me the way this company works, and mingles throughout society, and has made a name that will forever be known. ariel.gif

As you can see, I might have been made for something like this: a once in a lifetime opportunity. I have gotten older, and witnessed the Walt Disney World Company change lives, especially mine. A communications/journalism graduate, with no real direction, my goal here is to add this experience to my kick-a** resume, and find the direction I’ve been yearning to follow. I think I just need to start wishing on a star, and making new goals through this… What a better way to do that?

The journey so far hasn’t been the easiest, although I haven’t even started. Many of my family members and colleagues don’t really understand why I want to embark on this journey, so as I start I will uncover WHY Walt Disney World is the place I want to be. As there are many places to travel around the world, or even the country, something always brings me back to WDW. One day, I aspire to go to all of these lovely places, I really do.Walt-Disney-World-entrance.jpg The bucket list of my place is endless. What everyone who questions my decisions doesn’t understand or grasp is something I so often try to display to the world is the sense of community and togetherness Disney holds. That feeling of comfort, and true happiness– It feels like home. Along with growing up there, and going so often, Disney is home to culture, and the connection that grows between cultures is something I’ll never be able to explain to the non-believers.

So when you think you are being concerned with my path in life, also know you are mostly offending me by saying “there is more to life than a mouse and a fake castle.”

Now that I’ve gone a little off track from my original topic, I have dreamed about this opportunity since I found out that the Disney College Program was actually a thing. My parents always told me that they would be totally OK with this once in a lifetime chance, but they truly wanted me to wait until after I received my Bachelors Degree from Springfield College so I wouldn’t take any time off of school.

The start really starts when I was sitting at my part-time desk job in Springfield, MA when I received this email from the Disney Company saying applications for Fall DCP were available. I secretly started to  fill out the first step to my application there, and eventually I got the email for the second part: The Web Based Interview (Was not fun, btw).

I passed that, actually without know that if I did not pass, I would not move on in the applic13315373_10209887200047229_4545791030233168090_n.jpgation process. I guess sometimes not reading the fine print works out. I waited a week and a half  for my phone interview: I was TERRIFIED, but it went fine!
After that eternity set in. I seriously waited for an answer until mid- March, where I was studying at my desk for a huge Business Law exam. As I didn’t check my email for a while during that time, I suddenly did, and that’s when I received the “Congratulations!” email, and couldn’t be happier.

This is just the start to my journey, as I don’t leave until August 15, 2016. Until then, I’m just trying to get by with faith, and trust, and of course pixie dust.

xoxo Meghan

Leave a comment